Wood Meets Water

The first piece off of the new Album Oma is out now! Its called Wood Meets Water

Wood Meets Water. First single off the album Oma. Out March 6, 2020 on Common Noise/Outside Music

“Stark and stately, this melody opens the album and serves as an introduction to this cycle of compositions,” says Grunwald. “Wood – the starting material for many objects in our lives. Water – a substance that gives life and serves as a conduit. The place where Wood meets Water is the meeting between raw materials and the medium which transports and transforms that material into its final form.”

Accompanying the single is a stunning animated video by Les Cooper made from stock footage that Grunwald collected while visiting his Oma at her home in Concepcion, Chile back in January of 2019. Watch the video here

Like the artist page and stay up to date with the latest news including tour dates, and more releases.

SLOW Volumes: One (01)


Today, more than ever before, our world is moving at an incredible pace. We are constantly being bombarded with sounds, images, quips and opinions – little bits of information that are vying for our attention at an astounding frequency, and which never seem to cease. It’s hard to find stillness and escape in this sandstorm of data – with the SLOW Volumes collection, we are doing our best to help remedy that. 

All proceeds from this collection will be donated to The Daily Bread Food Bank of Toronto. (www.dailybread.ca)


released June 3, 2016 

Cover Image by Eamon MacMahon (www.eamonmacmahon.com
Mastered by Reuben Ghose at Mojito Mastering (mojitomastering.com

01 Joshua Van Tassel (www.joshuavt.com) / James Bunton (www.james-bunton.com
02 Adrian Gordon Cook (www.adriangordoncook.com
03 Merganzer (merganzermusic.wordpress.com
04 Andrew Kinoshita 
05 Felicity Williams 
06 Dean Drouillard (www.deandrouillard.com
07 Oswego (oswegodrone.tumblr.com
08 Sarah Slean (sarahslean.com
09 Christine Bougie (www.christinebougie.com
10 Robbie Grunwald (robbiegrunwald.com)

DoubleTooth: Volume 1


Double Tooth’s Volume 1 is a sonic psychedelic journey inspired by the music of Nigeria in the 1960’s. After falling in love with the music made in this period and investigating the technical limitations they dealt with while still making amazing sounding recordings, the charm of working with what the tools you have became clear to us. Recordings were done with limited numbers of microphones, and limited recording equipment in general. So, with this in mind, we set out guidelines to make music that was honest, raw and in the spirit of the recordings made at that time. 

Volume 1 was made by 2 people in 1 room. All of the recordings were made in a small basement studio using one microphone, one preamp, one guitar amp, and whatever instruments we had in the room and could play at a reasonably competent level. Our goal was to shut out the inner critic and limitless technical possibilities modern recording offers us. Strip it down, take it back to playing and reacting and making some music that makes us feel good. 

Although the rhythm and feel of this record is heavily influenced by the Nigerian sound, we DID NOT set out to make an afro-beat record. This record is meant to be a collection of instrumental songs that were written, and recorded with a specific aesthetic and approach in mind. Thats all. We love the rhythms that we heard in those early recordings from Nigeria, and decided to use those feels as a launch pad for our writing. Team Double Tooth respects the fine line between taking influence and appropriation. 

Volume 1 is the first of what promises to be a long line of albums that Double Tooth produces. We plan to continue to make instrumental albums that follow a similar set of restrictive rules from volume to volume. Its hard to say what the next source of inspiration will be, but the main idea is that all of the records will be made following specific rules set by us (Robbie Grunwald and Joshua Van Tassel) that help us to be as musically creative as possible . We’re very excited about this project and hope that you’ll enjoy listening to it as much as we’ve enjoyed making it. Stay tuned for Volume 2… 


released August 5, 2014 

Robbie Grunwald: Fender Rhodes, Micromoog, Roland Juno 6, Bass, Guitar, Glockenspiel, congas, hand claps 
Joshua Van Tassel: Drums, congas, shakers, misc percussion, glockenspiel, hand claps, psychedelics 
Dean Drouillard: Thrashy Guitar solo on Poisonous Cloud 
Devon Henderson: Whistling on Four Magnificent Miles 
All songs Composed, Produced, and Recorded by Robbie Grunwald and Joshua Van Tassel at the Verge Music Lab Underground 
Mixed by Joshua Van Tassel 
Mastered by Reuben Ghose at Mojito Mastering (www.mojitomastering.com
Logo and font design by Ryan Lake (www.ryanlake.com)